Planet Earth Is Blue Blog Tour Review

Omfg ya’ll need this book. Planet Earth is Blue is AMAZING.

Don’t like space or read middle grade? DOESN’T MATTER. Trust me and check it all out down here ๐Ÿ‘‡.

About Planet earth is blue:

I received this book for free from in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Planet Earth Is Blue Blog Tour ReviewTitle: Planet Earth Is Blue
Author: Nicole Panteleakos
Pub. Date: May 14, 2019
Publisher Wendy Lamb Books
Genres: Contemporary, Middle Grade
Pages: 240
Goodreads Amazon|| B&N|| TBD|| iBooks

"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

A heartrending and hopeful debut novel about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish.

Twelve-year-old Nova is eagerly awaiting the launch of the space shuttle Challenger--it's the first time a teacher is going into space, and kids across America will watch the event on live TV in their classrooms. Nova and her big sister, Bridget, share a love of astronomy and the space program. They planned to watch the launch together. But Bridget has disappeared, and Nova is in a new foster home.

While foster families and teachers dismiss Nova as severely autistic and nonverbal, Bridget understands how intelligent and special Nova is, and all that she can't express. As the liftoff draws closer, Nova's new foster family and teachers begin to see her potential, and for the first time, she is making friends without Bridget. But every day, she's counting down to the launch, and to the moment when she'll see Bridget again. Because Bridget said, "No matter what, I'll be there. I promise."

IMHO: Planet earth is blue:

Content Warning: Violent sudden death.

I love Nova and her letters to Bridget. I just wanted to fight for her and get her a pair of ear plugs/ear muffs.

Bridget is an amazing big sister! Every memory made ache for her and itch that much more to meet her.

YAY for great foster families!!! And while the ones before weren’t great, at least none were abusive molesting horror stories. Those stories should be for survivors by survivors. And the fact this wasn’t used to up the inspiration porn factor makes me love it all the more.

We all know how the Challenger story ends. But I did not see how Nova and Bridget’s would.

There is this prevailing sense of dread and hope twisted throughout because of this dichotomy.

I couldn’t stop reading Planet Earth Is Blue. I finished it on the bus home from work AND BAWLED MY EYES OUT. In front of everyone. Could not stop. Did not stop until I was home 40 mins later hugging my daughter and eating. ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ

As for what kind of tears those were? You’ll have to read it for yourself. There’s a chance to win a copy of this Must Read below!

About the Author:

About Nicole Panteleakos

Nicole Panteleakos Author Pic

Nicole Panteleakos is an author, playwright, thespian, and Ravenclaw. Her debut novel PLANET EARTH IS BLUE (Wendy Lamb Books, Penguin Random House) will be out in bookstores nationwide on May 14, 2019, with a second middle grade novel to follow in 2020. She is represented by agent Katie Grimm at Don Congdon Associates and belongs to the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators: Metro NY. She is also a Lifetime Member of the VFW Auxiliary and National Home for Children, a godmother of three, and a regular contributor to Nanny Magazine. When not writing, she can usually be found reading fanfiction, playing board games, doing community theatre, or adding to her Alice in Wonderland coffee cup collection.

Giveaway:

3 winners will receive a finished copy of PLANET EARTH IS BLUE, US Only.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

5/6/2019- Lifestyle Of MeReview

5/7/2019- Lone Tree ReviewsReview

5/8/2019- Beagles & BooksReview

5/9/2019- Book-KeepingReview

5/10/2019- Feed Your Fiction AddictionReview

5/13/2019- BookHounds YAReview

5/14/2019- Bri’s Book NookReview

5/15/2019- The Layaway DragonReview

5/16/2019- Here’s to Happy EndingsReview

5/17/2019- Novel NoviceExcerpt

Comments

  1. Lisa Maucione on

    This book sounds wonderful! All the reviews Iโ€™ve read so far have mentioned that itโ€™s unputdownable. Looking forward to reading!

Leave A Comment

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.