Spellhacker by M.K. England Review Blog Tour

Happy Friday ya’ll! Today I’m ecstatic to bring you Spellhacker by  M.K. England. It’s a fantasy, but in a futuristic society where a ragtag group of teens steal from the monopoly company controlling the magic of the land, maz. It follows Diz, Supreme Overlord of Naming, as she crushes on her nonbinary friend in said gang who is spellsick and a prodigy spellweaver. Talk about action and ~drama~.

About Spellhacker:

I received this book for free from Fantastic Flying Book Club in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Spellhacker by M.K. England Review Blog TourTitle: Spellhacker
Author: M.K. England
Pub. Date: January 21, 2020
Publisher HarperTeen
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult
Format: ARC
Pages: 416
Goodreads Amazon|| B&N|| TBD|| iBooks|| Google Play

From the author of The Disasters, this genre-bending YA fantasy heist story is perfect for fans of Marie Lu and Amie Kaufman.

In Kyrkarta, magic—known as maz—was once a freely available natural resource. Then an earthquake released a magical plague, killing thousands and opening the door for a greedy corporation to make maz a commodity that’s tightly controlled—and, of course, outrageously expensive.

Which is why Diz and her three best friends run a highly lucrative, highly illegal maz siphoning gig on the side. Their next job is supposed to be their last heist ever.

But when their plan turns up a powerful new strain of maz that (literally) blows up in their faces, they’re driven to unravel a conspiracy at the very center of the spellplague—and possibly save the world.

No pressure.

IMHO: spellhacker

OH MY GOD YA’LL!! So much queer orphan found family adventure. There’s hacking and stealing from a mega company that controls the world’s supply of magic maz. There’s betrayal,  lust and love, clubbing, train rides and sewers. Okay, so it’s not all glamourous. But when they find out they can save the world? THEY DO IT.

Diz is a techie genius with PTSD, and insomnia.  The wit, the sarcasm that pushes everyone’s buttons. Defensive mechanism much?

Remi, who uses they/them pronouns, living with spellsickness and a magical prodigy. Weaves magic into amazing spells like golden puppies  to make a certain someone smile.

Ania, the rich girl who’s a tech witch – someone who can only use maz through technology. The Mom Friend who will call  you on your shit.

Jaesin, The Dad Friend. Experiments in the kitchen, does the heavy lifting and all the mundane things that keep this group running.

Also, Ania & Jaesin? Exes. Diz & Remin? Not so much.

  • Friends to lovers romance.
  • Enby character romance
  • Other queer couples mentioned where it’s totally normal & not a big deal – which is HUGE! <3
  • Found family
  • Clubbing
  • Thrift Stores
  • HeistS
  • Earthquakes
  • Explosions
  • Train rides
  • Hurricanes
  • Blackmail
  • Conspiracy
  • Magical rapid rabbits and unicorns
  • …need I say more?

I can see an argument that the ending is rushed since our MC was, uh, not there per se. But really? Don’t care. I think it works and it leaves open a possibility of a sequel. Maybe. Just tossing that out there.

five-stars

It’s quick, it’s fun, it’s queer, it’s teens saving the world and each other. I fucking love it. I want more of it. NEED more of it. It’s truth in fiction for those who need to feel it.

 

Favorite Quotes:

Ania: Yeah, but we don’t inspire murdery feelings in everyone we meet.

 

“Whatever you say, Awesome Strongman McDad Friend,” I say around his finger.

 

Much of it glows with neon, with maz, with money and desperate forward-looking optimism. The parts that don’t aren’t parts you want to visit anyway.

 

Sleep and I aren’t on speaking terms.

 

I’ve always known, of course, but there’s a difference between knowing and seeing.

 

Two swears from Ania in less than a week. This is a day just full of unicorns.

 

I’ve never been more aware of my feet in my life, and I jump off buildings on the regular.

 

Ania holds up her hands. “Hey, I know my limits. I’m the math, you’re the poetry.”

 

“As sure as I ever am about anything,” I say. “Which is, you know. Moderately?”

 

Internally, this morning felt like cresting the peak of the mountain, and I can finally see the gorgeous terrain sweeping before me, glorious valleys of rich greens and blue sky and the infinite possibility of horizons.

 

 

When in doubt, make your own door.

 

About the Author:

About M.K. England

MK England Headshot 2016

M.K. England is an author and librarian who grew up on the Space Coast of Florida and now calls rural Virginia home. When she’s not writing or librarianing, MK can be found drowning in fandom, rolling dice at the gaming table, digging in the garden, or feeding her video game addiction. She loves Star Wars with a desperate, heedless passion. It’s best if you never speak of Sherlock Holmes in her presence. You’ll regret it.

THE DISASTERS is her debut novel. Follow her at www.mkengland.com.

Giveaway:

PRIZE: Win a signed hardcover of SPELLHACKER (US only), and one swag pack including a sticker, postcard, signed bookplate, and bookmark (INT)
STARTS: 15th January 2020
ENDS: 19th January 2020

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

January 15th

January 16th

For The Love of Fictional Worlds – Review + Favourite Quotes + Author’s Reaction
Becky’s Book Blog – Review + Favourite Quotes
BookCrushin – Review
Kait Plus Books – Review

January 17th

Musings of a (Book) Girl – Story Behind The Cover
Books of Amber – Review
The Layaway Dragon – Review

January 18th

NovelKnight – Official Book Playlist
A Gingerly Review – Review
Magical Reads – Review + Playlist

January 19th

Belle’s Archive – Review + Favourite Quotes
Moonlight Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Clever Reader – Review
The Book Lyst – Review

January 20th

Artsy Draft – Review + Favourite Quotes + Author’s Reaction
L.M. Durand – Review
Confessions of a YA Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes
BookBriefs – Review

January 21st

To All The Books I’ve Read Before – Skype or Video Interview

Leave A Comment

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.