Tarnished Are the Stars Blog Tour Review

Happy Tarnished Are The Stars Review Post Day, all ya’ll! So many fantastic book tours this October so I couldn’t help sign up for them all, but this one is especially dear to me. It’s sci-fi with gaslamp aesthetics and #ownvoices queer AF.

About Tarnished Are the Stars:

I received this book for free from Fantastic Flying Book Club in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Tarnished Are the Stars Blog Tour ReviewTitle: Tarnished Are the Stars
Author: Rosiee Thor
Pub. Date: October 15, 2019
Publisher Scholastic Press
Genres: Romance, Science Fiction, W/W, Young Adult
Format: ARC, ebook
Pages: 384
Goodreads Amazon|| B&N|| Google Play

The Lunar Chronicles meets Rook in this queer #OwnVoices science-fantasy novel, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sharon Cameron.

A secret beats inside Anna Thatcher's chest: an illegal clockwork heart. Anna works cog by cog -- donning the moniker Technician -- to supply black market medical technology to the sick and injured, against the Commissioner's tyrannical laws.

Nathaniel Fremont, the Commissioner's son, has never had to fear the law. Determined to earn his father's respect, Nathaniel sets out to capture the Technician. But the more he learns about the outlaw, the more he questions whether his father's elusive affection is worth chasing at all.

Their game of cat and mouse takes an abrupt turn when Eliza, a skilled assassin and spy, arrives. Her mission is to learn the Commissioner's secrets at any cost -- even if it means betraying her own heart.

When these uneasy allies discover the most dangerous secret of all, they must work together despite their differences and put an end to a deadly epidemic -- before the Commissioner ends them first.

IMHO: Tarnished Are the Stars

Tarnished Are The Stars is like Wild Wild West and Scarlet had a revolutionist rainbow child. I was instantly interested in each camp and their MCs, who all have distinct rotating POVs. It’s snappy & fun. The almost 400 pages just flew by and I’d happily read more of what happened after.

  • MCs are Bi, Lesbian, and Aro Ace
  • The most romantic actions are looks, brief touches, and kissing.
  • Takes about halfway before the gayness gets overt and then goes sailing over the rainbow
  • Last half really ramps up the action & intrigue
  • No rape or rape threats
  • Death of a parent and a child
  • Surgery
  • Abusive parent with nuance
  • Abused child defends themselves, grows out of the negative habits, & flourishes
  • Stand! Alone!
  • Gaslamp Victorian vibes w/ clothes, manners, and gears
  • Can easily be read by the youngest teens
  • Hopeful & happy tone & ending
  • Can see some complaining about instalove & character changes near the end, but I think it works & feels authentic to me

four-half-stars

This is an interesting genre-mash to try an recommend based on. I think fans of Nyxia by Scott Reintgen, Under The Never Sky, and Rin Chupeco,  would enjoy this as different as they are.

Also, I donated to the Common Bonds Anthology project & am SO looking forward to Rosiee Thor’s work there as well.

About the Author:

About Rosiee Thor

Rosiee Thor Author Picture

Rosiee Thor began her career as a storyteller by demanding that her mother listen as Rosiee told bedtime stories instead of the other way around. She lives in Oregon with a dog, two cats, and four complete sets of Harry Potter, which she loves so much, she once moved her mattress into the closet and slept there until she came out as queer.

Giveaway:

Prize: Win a signed hardcopy of TARNISHED ARE THE STARS by Rosiee Thor (US Only)

Stars: 15th October 2019
Ends: 29th October 2019
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

October 15th

October 16th

Utopia State of Mind – Guest Post
Moonlight Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
Book-Keeping – Review

October 17th

L.M. Durand – Interview
Luchia Houghton Blog – Review + Favourite Quotes
Dazzled by Books – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Reading Chemist  – Promotional Post

October 18th

BookCrushin – Guest Post
Novelishly – Review
My Thoughts Literally – Review + Favourite Quotes
TBR and Beyond – Review + Playlist + Favourite Quotes

October 19th

Morgan Vega – Review + Favourite Quotes
Starlight Reads – Review + Favourite Quotes
Arzo Reads – Review
Confessions of a YA Reader – Promotional Post

October 20th

NovelKnight – Interview
Bookishly Nerdy – Review
The Layaway Dragon – Review + Favourite Quotes
One in a Million – Review

October 21st

Kait Plus Books – Interview
The Book Dutchesses  – Review + Favourite Quotes
Novel Nerd Faction – Review + Playlist

Leave A Comment

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.