Truly Madly Royally Review

Today is a good day. Today I get to share Truly Madly Royally by Debbie Rigaud. A quick snappy rom com about an American girl and a prince grappling with their attraction and media attention.

About Truly Madly Royally:

I received this book for free from Fantastic Flying Book Club in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Truly Madly Royally ReviewTitle: Truly Madly Royally
Author: Debbie Rigaud
Pub. Date: July 30, 2019
Publisher Point
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Pages: 304
Goodreads Amazon|| B&N|| TBD|| iBooks|| Google Play

Fiercely independent and smart, Zora Emerson wants to change the world. She's excited to be attending a prestigious summer program, even if she feels out of place among her privileged, mostly white classmates. So she's definitely not expecting to feel a connection to Owen, who's an actual prince of an island off the coast of England. But Owen is funny, charming...and undeniably cute. Zora can't ignore the chemistry between them. When Owen invites Zora to be his date at his big brother's big royal wedding, Zora is suddenly thrust into the spotlight, along with her family and friends. Everyone is talking about her, in real life and online, and while Owen is used to the scrutiny, Zora's not sure it's something she can live with. Can she maintain her sense of self while moving between two very different worlds? And can her feelings for Owen survive and thrive in the midst of the crazy? Find out in this charming romantic comedy that's like The Princess Diaries for a new generation.

IMHO: Truly Madly Royally

Zora is kicking ass and taking names at a prestigious educational white haven while commuting, do-gooding, and surviving the snobs. One cell phone mishap in a library leads to a confessional with a cutely accented stranger leads to Truly Madly Royally.

“This summer could’ve gone as I’d planned had I just walked away from Owen to begin with.”

Snapshot:

  • Quick breezy fun contemp
  • Tight and snappy narrative
  • Fantastic dialogue
  • So adorable!
  • Zora is amazing
  • Full of black girl magic and black positivity
  • Fundraising and community building
  • Amazing library and bookstore hang outs
  • Understandable mishaps & miscommunications.
  • Love the bffs and the additional subplot romance.
  • Divorced parents, one being remarried
  • Yesssss my studious overachievers.
  • Not all the students are awful & they find a place on campus
  • I didn’t even know there were classes in such things, though it makes total sense.
  • It Girl Antagonist. Loved their conversation and interactions at the wedding.
  • Happy ending that hits just right.

It’s really hard to talk about Zora & Owen as so much revolves around their dynamic and events. But I love their dialogue, it sparks off the page. Owen also plans amazing dates. On one hand, I would like to see more of Owen & Zora time, but on the other, I love how tight and snappy the narrative is.

“Even though I failed the Dope Dress Test, this feels like a win.”

Things happen, stuff goes sideways, and it’s handled. There’s no long drawn out melodrama or unnecessariness. They talk honestly and head-on. Life can be full and exciting and a whirlwind of domino effects without  being unpleasant and full of villains.

“It’s about joining hands with the families to safeguard children from one of society’s greatest ills: apathy. This program models the idea that in the absence of your parents or guardian, your community is your family. You never walk alone.”

I love how the community watch and support of fellow black women was included. Yes, media can be invasive and slanted and plain fatphobic trash in Emily’s case, but throughout out it all, black women hold it down for each other. I don’t care about white royalty or aristocracy, but watching black women support and enjoy Markle’s wedding, was a thing of beauty.

“Zora, every day I pray my darkness didn’t take away your light.”

Zora’s mom is remarried and they’re a happy family with the step-dad. Her brother’s gotten to the other side of rough patch and her father is quite the character. Him and Zora are so alike it’s difficult since they use their talents in seemingly opposite ways.

I could see and understand her parents so well.  This next bit it’ll sound really weird-but I appreciate the included parental headbutting and disagreements. It’s refreshing to see adults lovingly rendered with history, and baggage. So many kids deal with this and it’s great to see Zora handle it with aplomb.

Great Rating Graphic

four-stars

Perfect for fans of Kaisie West, and Not Now, Not Ever by Lily Anderson.

 

 

About the Author:

About Debbie Rigaud

Debbie Rigaud author photo

YA author Debbie M. Rigaud began her writing career covering news and entertainment for magazines. She’s interviewed celebs, politicians, social figures and “real” girls. Her writing has appeared in Seventeen, CosmoGIRL!, Essence, J-14, Trace, Heart&Soul and Vibe Vixen, to name a few. Her first YA fiction writing was published in the anthology HALLWAY DIARIES (KimaniTru Press/September 2007). Her first standalone YA book--a Simon Pulse romantic comedy titled PERFECT SHOT--is due out in the Fall of 2009

Giveaway:

Prize: Win (1) of (2) copies of TRULY MADLY ROYALLY by Debbie Rigaud (US Only)

Starts: 24th July 2019
Ends: 7th August 2019
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

July 24th

July 25th

Book Slaying – Guest Post
Book Rambler – Review
The Clever Reader – Review + Favourite Quotes
Bookmark Lit – Review

July 26th

Musings of a (Book) Girl – Review + Favourite Quotes
Wishful Endings – Review
Struck by Stories – Review
Phannie the ginger bookworm – Review + Favourite Quotes

July 27th

Bookishly Nerdy – Review + Favourite Quotes
Confessions of a YA Reader – Promotional Post
Flying Paperbacks  – Review + Favourite Quotes

July 28th

The Layaway Dragon – Review + Favourite Quotes
Andi’s ABCs – Review
Inky Moments – Review + Favourite Quotes
Kait Plus Books – Review + Favourite Quotes

July 29th

The Candid Cover – Review + Playlist
The Reading Faery – Review + Favourite Quotes
Magical Reads – Review + Playlist

July 30th

Moonlight Rendezvous – Review + Favourite Quotes
The Bibliophile Confessions – Review + Favourite Quotes
Bookish_Kali – Review + Favourite Quotes
A Dream Within A Dream – Promotional Post

Comments

  1. Debbie Rigaud on

    Thank you for all of your beautiful insight. I loved your reading of the characters and their quirks so much. It’s even given me food for thought.

Leave A Comment

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.